Minutes May 12th 2011

Minutes of the Meeting of Clifford Parish Council held in Clifford Community Centre on Thursday May 12th 2011 7.30 p.m.

Christine Bates (Clerk) Gill Grove (Chairman)
Will Bullough Candia Compton
Martin Preece Anthony Williams
David Penrose Phillip Price (County Councillor) Margaret Davies David Morgan
Bill Wood (PROW Officer)

Short update from CSO James Cook Peterchurch Station. Clifford Crime for 2010 three thefts property trailer and fuel and a horse blanket.
Linda Wilcox – Talk on New Localism Bill & PAYE
The Government’s new Localism Bill which aims at giving new powers to Parish
Councils. Linda stressed the importance of obtaining “Quality
Council” status, particularly in securing future discretionary
additional funding from central and local government. Whilst
having many of the features required to be a Quality Council, for
example having an agreed Parish Plan, Clifford Council does
not formally have that status to date .
Registration of Parish Council for PAYE, previous guidance on tax treatment of payments by Parish Councils to their clerks indicated it was acceptable for tax purposes for these payments to be made outside PAYE scheme. Guidance based on the premise that clerks fell below the PAYE threshold. HMRC are now aware that clerks earn in excess of PAYE & National Insurance contributions. Parish Clerk is an office holder & all office holders are subject to PAYE. HALC has issued guidance & it is the Parish Council as the employer who must register. Councillors discussed the requirement, whilst HALC had indicated they were in negotiation to offer a fee paying service to smaller councils, It was agreed the clerk should register the council for PAYE scheme

1)Apologies: Richard Mighall (OSO)

2)Declaration of Interests – None

3)Approval of Minutes of the Council meeting and Annual Council Meeting dated May 12th 2011
All agreed to be a true record of the meeting and signed by the Chairman

Council approved payment of:
Renewal of Insurance 2011 2012
Martin Leighton – Lengthsman
Dave Prescott – Website
Community Centre Grant for Solar Panels

5) Reporting Information

A) Highways –. Pot hole by the council houses Clerk to report to Amey also pothole outside the community centre

6) PROW Report – No reported problems

7) Removal of Two Sheds – Request from Dick Hebbart, council rejected this request as this would disturb the wildlife.

8)”Awards For All” Commons Grant – It was agreed a small group of Councillors and Ian Ruse would agreed a proposal for the three areas of commons, a public meeting would be arranged for early July to discuss possibilities and allow comments to be submitted.

9) Update on Open Spaces – Apologies: Richard Mighall (OSO)

10) Planning Applications –

11) Agreement of dates for Parish Meetings 201 /12
July 14th 2011 7.30pm
September 8th 2011 7.30pm
November 10th 2011 7.30pm
January 12th 2012 7.30pm
March 8th 2012 7.30pm
AGM – 2012 May 10th

Meeting closed @ 8.43pm
Next meeting Thursday July 14th 7.00pm